Some foreign students in the closing ceremony.

UNAIR NEWS – The Amerta Hall of Management Office Universitas Airlangga was lively and cheerful on Friday, December 8. Dozens of students  from different parts of the world ​​interacted each other intimately. Some participants come forward to introduce themselves in their own languages, from France, Thailand, Japan and Africa. These students were attending the Closing Ceremony of INDIAIR 2017 and AMERTA VII Program.

Both programs of Universitas Airlangga are intended for foreign students who want to experience learning and academic climate at Universitas Airlangga.  Vice Rector I Universitas Airlangga Prof. Djoko Santoso, Ph.D and Executive Secretary of Airlangga Global Engagement Dian Ekowati Ph.D were present on the occasion.

In the welcoming session, both Prof. Djoko and Dian expressed their gratitude to all participants who have attended the program. Hopefully, through the program they can learn new things that can be useful in the future.

“You have made a lot of memories here (Universitas Airlangga, ed), I hope from here you can learn something. UNAIR is proud to have you guys, ” said Prof. Djoko followed with an applause from the participants.

The atmosphere became emotional as one of the representatives of AMERTA VII students, Nadia Thabet from France, was invited to the stage to give testimony. She looked cheerful at first then not for long, she shed her tears during speech.

“UNAIR gives me comfort and friendship as well. I will continue to remember this beloved campus, “said Nadia.

The emotional atmosphere was enlivened with a performance of students from the INDIAIR program singing the song “We Are The One”. A song written by legendary singers Michael Jackson and Lionel Richie. All participants raised their hands up and sang the song together. At the end of the show, they took pictures together and hugged each other.

“Honestly it’s hard leaving UNAIR. I’m in love. It’s home to me, I have to go back, ” said Dennies Pohl, one of the participants from Germany. (*)

Author: Faridah Hariani

Editor: Rio F. Rachman